The Devil is her Hero

Posted: October 15, 2008 in halloween, holidays, kids, parenting, religion


Just a quickie today.

(Like you ladies out there expect anything else)

My eight-year old daughter is dressing as a Devil for Halloween this year.

You know:

…horns…tail…dress…pitchfork.

We really didn’t need to buy anything for her to get this look.

That reminds me, I need to return her principal’s phone call….I think I heard a riot in the background.

Regardless…

…she brought home a paper from school that talked about the kids wearing their costumes next week.

My daughter read this aloud to us:

“Costumes representing heroes or patriotic characters are preferred, as it reinforces our theme this week of honoring our national heroes.”

Patriotism and heroes.

She wasn’t going to be wearing a patriotic costume…

…nor would she be dressed up as a hero.

She sounded…discouraged.

That was until my wife decided to pipe up with this little gem:

Wife: “Well, you can tell them that the Devil is your hero.”

*blink*

Nice one, hon.

That should go over well.

Humor: 1
Parenting Skill: 0

That should go over well at school.

You know…if there’s anything left of it.

I’ll let you know when I get off the phone with the principal.

Leave a Reply

